Sunday, 1 July 2012

Happy Canada Day!

Living Canadian flag in Winnipeg on July 1, 2011.

Image obtained from the Winnipeg Metro.

It's Canada's 140th birthday today. 140 years ago the "Dominion of Canada" was federated, with Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswich, and Nova Scotia our nation's first provinces.

On July 15, 1870 - after much contention with local inhabitants (including initial armed resistance until the details of the rights of inhabitants were hammered out) - Manitoba joined confederation - as did the Northwest Territories (both were formerly Hudson's Bay Company owned land).

On July 20, 1871 the Province of British Columbia was incorporated into Canada.

On July 1, 1873 Prince Edward Island joined the Dominion of Canada. Despite hosting an important meeting in the process of Canadian confederation in 1864, Charlottetown was a holdover - refusing to join Canada for some time later than it's nearest neighbours.

On September 1, 1905 the provinces of Alberta and Saskatchewan were carved out of the Northwest Territories.

On March 31, 1949 Newfoundland joined Canada.

The Yukon was carved out of the Northwest Territories in 1898, as was Nunavut in 1999.

On August 10, 1960 John Diefenbaker's government passed the Canadian Bill of Rights.

On April 17, 1982 Canada's constitution was brought home with the Constitution Act, 1982. The Act included an extensive Charter of Rights and Freedoms. 

In honour of Canada's history, Winnipeggers will gather to form a living flag in front of the legislature (like the one pictured above). Interested parties should make there way down by 9:30 AM, the flag formation will be held from 11:15 AM until 12:00 PM.

The Winnipeg Metro has a summary of other events - picnics, street festivals, musical events, and fireworks.

No comments:

Post a Comment